Postgraduate Bursaries

The British Comparative Literature Association is pleased to announce its scheme of postgraduate bursaries, designed to support attendance at conferences or research trips by BCLA members registered for a postgraduate degree (MA, MRes, MPhil, or PhD). Each award will be up to a maximum of £250 per student.  

There are two application rounds each year, with deadlines of 31 May and 30 November, 12 noon UK time. No application will be accepted after the deadline, and applications cannot be made retrospectively. The award, however, may be claimed after the event attended, with proof of attendance and receipts for travel costs supplied.BCLA Postgraduate Bursary Application Form

Applicants can only make one application per calendar year. Any publication resulting from research supported by this scheme must acknowledge the support received. Applicants must be current members of the BCLA and the research applied for must be in the field of comparative literature. Postgraduate bursary applications may be accompanied by applications for membership.

For the purposes of the postgraduate bursary scheme, ‘comparative literature’ is defined as the study of the interaction of at least two bodies of literature (writers, genres, etc.), usually across languages.

In order to apply for a BCLA postgraduate bursary, download and complete the BCLA Postgraduate Bursary Application Form
electronically and send it as an email attachment to both Dr Carole Sweeney and Professor Naomi Segal.

For more information, contact Professor Naomi Segal.

Previous recipients:

Summer 2019

Anna Katila (KCL): £200 bursary

Ian Ellison (Leeds): £100 bursary

Silvina Katz (OU): £100 bursary

Autumn 2018

Arianna Bassetti (QMUL): £250 bursary

Summer 2018

Karina Lickorish-Quinn (QMUL): £200 bursary

Aina Marti (University of Kent): £200 bursary

Autumn 2017

Rebecca Infield (Warwick University): £250 bursary
Lida Amiri (Liverpool University): £150 bursary

Summer 2017

Inmaculada Sánchez-García (Northumbria University): £200
Jessica Siu-yin Yeung (SOAS): £200 bursary